HIgh Hopes, Average Story: Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole Williams

Posted June 23, 2017 by Nereyda/ 6 Comments

HIgh Hopes, Average Story: Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole WilliamsTrusting You and Other Lies
by Nicole Williams
Release Date: June 20th 2017
Published by Listening Library (Audio)
Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Format: Audiobook
Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Length: 9 hrs and 17 mins
Pages: 304
Buy on AmazonBuy on Audible

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

three-stars
Source: Audiobook Received for Review

USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Nicole Williams delivers a seductive summer romance worth swooning over. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins.

Phoenix can't imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years--do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better? On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum--the head counselor who is seriously cute but a complete know-it-all. His hot-cold attitude means he's impossible to figure out--and even harder to rely on.

But despite her better judgment, Phoenix is attracted to Callum. And he's promising Phoenix a summer she'll never forget. Can she trust him? Or is this just another lie?

Audiobook Received for Review in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


Add to Goodreads

I haven’t been reading much YA lately. I just have a hard time finding a really good story with a great romance that isn’t too busy ticking off all those diverse checklist boxes that the story gets lost in the shuffle. (I’m all for diverse books but I want it to be organic with the story). I’ve been on the hunt for a really good YA contemporary (think I’ll Meet You There or The Book of Broken Hearts) and other than Alex, Approximately I haven’t had much luck. I read a series by this author a few years ago that I really liked so I was hoping this would be another good one. That and the fact that this one is narrated by one of my favorite narrators made it hard to pass up on this audiobook. While this story wasn’t at all bad, it just wasn’t what I was hoping for. It felt long and dragged on and I hate to say it but I just didn’t really care all that much for the MC, the story or the romance…

I think my main issue with this book was the main character Phoenix. Since the first page of the book, she has this poor me, everything in my life is awful attitude that gets old really fast. She’s upset with her parents for keeping secrets and uses that as an excuse to be surly and not trust anyone. She also uses it as a crutch when she makes mistakes. The thing is, as a parent, I understand that there are things that you have to deal with that sometimes kids have no business in. Since her father lost his job and they lost their house, Phoenix is angry at them for not telling her about losing the house. If I were in that situation, I would try my best to keep that worry from kids until absolute necessary and try to work out a solution instead… which is exactly what her parents are doing. Phoenix is too busy playing the victim and feeling sorry for herself to realize this. Even at the end, when her parents come clean and they tell her that her dad found a new job and her mom will start working but they will have to move to a new house and new school, she’s upset that she has to move schools. Ungrateful much?

I didn’t completely hate Phoenix though, she just simply got on my nerves whenever anything related to her parents came up. Luckily, this story had much more going for it than that. Here are the things I did like. Her brother is adorable and he adds some much-needed lightness to the story. I liked his bond with Phoenix even if Phoenix acted like she knew best simply because he parents were too stressed to notice some things. I liked seeing her little brother grow out of her shell and making Phoenix change too. I loved the family camp setting! I usually read about camp situations for kids or teens, I had never heard of a family camp place and I gotta say, it sounded fun. I had a… meh reaction to Callum and their romance. They had some really sweet moments but most of their time was spent telling each other how much they don’t trust each other because of their own personal issues. I would have like the romance to be better, but I’ve been finding that lacking in YA contemporary lately. All in all, although this wasn’t a favorite book of mine and some things annoyed me, I also didn’t hate it. The story was cute, even if it was a bit average, the setting was adorable and the audiobook performance was fantastic. If you like cute contemporary summery romances, this is a good one to try.

Audiobook Sample:

Follow Us:

Follow

Nereyda

Nereyda

Nereyda is a 30 year-old mother of two girls with addiction to Friends, fashion, books, Pinterest, Netflix, the color black and a little bit of everything else.

Tags: , , , ,


  • Ugh this one annoyed me so much. The trust issues thing was incredibly overdone.

  • Hmm… I think I will pass. I have been avoiding YA contemp and this doesn’t sound like a good fit for me. Thanks for the review.

  • I was pretty underwhelmed by this one too. I had heard so many great things about this author that I was really excited about this one, especially with that cute cover, but I just didn’t really love it. Great review!

  • Ari

    I’m probably going to pick up this book soon, but I don’t have high hopes for it because Nicole Williams has been putting out some mediocre books this year. I swear she has a new release every month and I wish she would just focus on writing one decent book at a time. 😩😩

  • Jazmen Greene

    I was just looking at this book the other day, now I’m kind of glad I skipped it. Doesn’t sound worth it.

  • Yikes, this one doesn’t sound like my sort of read at all. The line, “telling each other how much they don’t trust each other because of their own personal issues,” absolutely killed me. Not my idea of a cute romance! LOL.