Why You Should Consider Picking Up 10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac

Posted February 27, 2017 by Nick/ 12 Comments

Why You Should Consider Picking Up 10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac10 Things I Can See from Here
by Carrie Mac
Release Date: February 28th 2017
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Genres: Contemporary, Mental Illness, Romance, YA
Format: eARC
Pages: 320
Buy on AmazonBuy on B&N
three-half-stars
Source: ARC received for review purposes

Perfect for fans of Finding Audrey and Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.

Think positive.Don’t worry; be happy.Keep calm and carry on.
Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?

ARC received for review purposes in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


Add to Goodreads

I’m not usually a fan of summaries comparing books to other books, but the comparison to two books I absolutely adored, Finding Audrey and Everything, Everything, was what initially drew my attention to 10 Things I Can See From Here. Though not entirely accurate, for once, the comparison actually made sense given the kind of story this was. I was actually quite pleasantly surprised by how much I ended up liking this one, after a bit of a rough start. For my review I thought I’d share with you all some some great (in my opinion) reasons why I think you should read it.

Representation of Anxiety

Now, I can’t speak for the accuracy of the depiction of anxiety in this book, but to me it felt very real. Maeve’s anxiety is a substantial part of this book and it’s rough guys. Carrie Mac did not shy away from showing just how intense and brutal anxiety can be. Maeve is a worrier, who thinks of the worst possible outcomes to any and every scenario that she encounters. Her brain immediately bombards her with death stats and it’s a little terrifying being inside of her head. Part of why I had a rough beginning with this book was the level of intensity of her anxiety attacks, because I found myself being stressed for her. More than anything, I really do feel like that spoke to the author’s ability to evoke strong emotions from her readers. I would have liked to see Maeve get professional help for her mental state, but I also liked that she wasn’t suddenly magically cured.

A Mixed-Family

From my past reviews, most of you guys probably already know how much I appreciate a positive depiction of family in books. In 10 Things I Can See From Here, we see that, but the twist actually comes from the step-mother being the decent parent here. So often step-mothers are villainized in YA, so it was refreshing to see the positive bond between Maeve and Claire. Interestingly, her actual biological parents were a little iffy in my opinion, with her dad struggling with alcoholism and her mom having moved to Haiti with a man despite knowing just how much Maeve needed her. I also loved how close Maeve was with her twin step-brothers. They were dorky and adorable, and I loved seeing them bond.

Super Cute F/F Ship

I really really liked the romance in 10 Things I Can See From Here. The chemistry between Salix and Maeve was terrific and I loved watching the two slowly grow close to another. I would have loved to see more of them, a little earlier in the book, but when the romance set off, it was amazing. Salix gives Maeve the courage to be stronger, and be more open and I just thought they fit so well together. I think that there’s this misconception/misrepresentation in the media that people who struggle with mental health conditions are not able to love fully, when really that’s not the case at all. I love that Carrie Mac was able to show that even if Maeve had severe anxiety, she was able to find someone to love the complete package of her. Maeve and Salix also discussed sex and their expectations of sex, which I thought was an important conversation to have. I loved that the author brought up the point that sexuality when it comes to female-female couples is hardly ever addressed in sex-education classes, and that’s something that obviously needs to change.

I’m really glad that I decided to give this book a try, because I’ve found a new author whose works I want to check out more. If you’re looking for a diverse YA book, which also features a sweet romance and great family dynamics, this one is a must read.

Check out the other tour stops on the 10 Things I Can See From Here tour:

February 20 – Butter My Books
February 21 – The Compulsive Reader
February 22 – Take Me Away to A Great Read
February 23 – The Mod Podge Bookshelf
February 24 – Bookhounds YA
February 27thNick and Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist
                            Adventures in YA Publishing
February 28thRamblings of the Perpetual New Girl
March 1stIn Wonderland
 March 2ndYA Wednesdays
March 3rdHere’s to Happy Endings
March 4th: Adventures in YA Publishing
March 6thNo More Grumpy Bookseller
March 7thA Midsummer Night’s Read
March 8thRainy Day Coffee and Books
March 9thThe Fandom
March 10thPicture Books to YA and Everything in Be”Tween”
March 13thBookworm Everlasting
March 14thThe Moral of Our Stories
March 15Fangirlish
March 16The Young Folks
March 17Fiktshun
March 20YA Books Central
March 21Xpresso Reads
March 22A Dream Within A Dream

What are some of your favorite F/F romance novels?
Let me know in the comments below!

Follow Us:

Follow

Nick

Tags: , , , ,


  • This is the first time I hear
    about this book, Nick. This cover reminded me of Sofie Kindsella’s titles,
    maybe the publisher did it on purpose. I adore positive family representation
    in books too. I’m happy to hear this book portraits wonderful family. And the
    romance sounds wonderful.

  • I hate book comparisons in blurbs but I am glad these were more on point than normal. It sounds like this has a lot of good things going for it. I a glad stepmom was portrayed positively. I agree I hate the step parents always being that bad people. Great review!

  • I would be hard pressed to not be drawn to this one with comparisons to Finding Audrey and Everything Everything as well. And I’m glad to hear that for the most part this lived up to those comparisons. I also love when the step mom isn’t horrible!

  • Hmm, I haven’t heard of this book but it’s going on my list because I just saw the trailer for Everything, Everything and I want to see that movie (and read the book). Great review, Nick. You always read such great books.

  • I hate book comparisons too! It seems like every blurb has them now. 🙁 This sounds like it’s got a lot of good things going for it. I love that it depicts family so well. Great review!

  • Ha, yes those comparisons to other books usually terrify me. I loved Everything, Everything so I am glad this held up. Wonderful review 🙂

  • I liked this one a lot! As a queer person with multiple anxiety disorders, I really appreciated the representation! Maeve’s anxiety was portrayed so realistically. I loved the dynamic between Maeve and Salix, too. Oh, and I totally agree– while I didn’t care for either of her parents (for obvious reasons), I loved the relationship between Maeve and Claire. Great review, Nick!

  • Love is love. It’s actually inspiring when it’s found in the most incovnvenieny moment or between atypical people like the leads here. And I’m with you about families and positive depiction of that. I’m tired of “bad parents” in YA, so stereotypical

  • Ooh, this sounds amazing Nick! It’s so refreshing to see mixed families painted in such a positive light in YA, something that’s sorely lacking in so many books. The representation sounds just as wonderful and I loved Finding Audrey for that reason as well, that live moves on and the world doesn’t stop but we learn to live and cope with help. Ahhh, what a beautiful romance! I’m definitely grabbing a copy of this one too. Brilliant review Nick, loved it! <3

  • This sounds really good. I love when family is described as a good one, especially the step-parent. There are so many step-parents out there who do more for a child than a biological parent (not saying every case, but a lot of them) so I’m glad the step-mom was portrayed as a caring and loving person.
    Lovely review, Nick!

  • I definitely agree with your thoughts about the book’s representation of anxiety. Although I don’t have GAD, the book seemed very true to what I’ve studied about it for my major. It’s brutal and tense and persistent, and it provided so much insight into how people who have GAD live, and how their anxiety affects not only them but also the people around them. Really loved this book; great review!

    – Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

  • Okay, clearly I need to be reading this book! How have I been sleeping on this??? A cute queer ship with teens who actually communicate about sex and good secondary characters sounds great right now. And as someone who has an absolutely amazing step-mom, I’m really happy to hear about the good step-parenting here too! The beautiful cover doesn’t hurt, either. 😉