3 Reasons Why I Liked The Dragon’s Price by Bethany Wiggins

3 Reasons Why I Liked The Dragon’s Price by Bethany WigginsThe Dragon's Price (Transference, #1)
by Bethany Wiggins
Release Date: February 21st 2017
Published by Crown Books for Young Readers
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, YA
Format: ARC
Pages: 304
Buy on AmazonBuy on B&N
three-half-stars
Source: ARC received for review purposes

Fans of Julie Kagawa’s Talon and Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn will devour this action-packed fantasy adventure about a girl who chooses to surrender herself to a deadly dragon rather than marry an enemy prince.

When two warring kingdoms unified against a deadly menace laying waste to both their lands, they had to make a choice: vow to marry their heirs to one another, or forfeit their lives to the dragon.

Centuries later, everyone expects the sheltered princess Sorrowlynn to choose the barbarian prince over the fire-breathing beast—everyone, that is, except Sorrow, who is determined to control her own destiny or die trying.

As she is lowered into the dragon’s chamber, she assumes her life is over until Golmarr, the young prince she just spurned, follows her with the hopes of being her hero and slaying the dragon. But the dragon has a different plan. . . .

If the dragon wins, it will be freed from the spell that has bound it to the cave for centuries. If Sorrow or Golmarr vanquish the dragon, the victor will gain its treasure and escape the cave beneath the mountain. But what exactly is the dragon hiding?

There are no safe havens for Sorrow or Golmarr—not even with each other—and the stakes couldn’t be higher as they risk everything to protect their kingdom.

Add to Goodreads

Is it just me or is YA fantasy sorely lacking in dragons? I haven’t come across many with them, but when I do, I’m always quick to read. That was honestly the main reason for me picking up The Dragon’s Price. I hadn’t read anything by the author before, so I went in with zero expectations, and ultimately, the book wound up being a book I couldn’t put down.

Here are a few reasons, why I enjoyed this book:

1. It’s unique for a YA fantasy

I don’t know about you guys, but lately, every YA fantasy book I’ve read has been the same old repetitive story. Over the past year, I’ve noticed that YA fantasy has lost its originality and honestly, it has made me wary of the genre. Reading The Dragon’s Price was a breath of fresh air. It’s got a unique and utterly engrossing concept, and awesome world building, that may start off like the same old fantasy world, but slowly builds up to become something very original. It has bits and pieces here and there that you’ll find familiar, but Bethany Wiggins manages to make the story entirely hers. If you, like me, are a little sick of reading the same story in every new YA fantasy book, then this is a must-read for you.

2. It has dragons, and they aren’t just there in the background

Obviously, I have to mention the dragons, because woah! I don’t know what it is about these mythical creatures, but I’m always excited to see one in a book. Here, we get glimpses to MANY different dragons. They are scary, and intriguing, and had me on the edge of my seat. There’s much to learn about them and I’m excited to see what the author has in store, especially given how the main character becomes linked to them.

3. An enjoyable cast & a sweet romance

I wasn’t too sure about the protagonist, Sorrowlyn at first, because she had her spoiled moments, but she grew on me as soon as she decided to sacrifice herself instead of getting married. Throughout the book, thanks to the push given by the obstacles that she faces, she grows a spine and becomes a lot more mature. I liked her love interest Golmarr a lot too. He was charming, flirty, but always there for Sorrowlyn. The romance between the two was slow-burn, but with instant-attraction. I loved watching the two of them banter, and become comfortable around each other. I will say that there are some really cheesy moments & dialogue in this book, but they didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the story. We also get introduced to Golmarr’s family, who I’m hoping we’ll see a lot more of in the subsequent books. I especially loved his brothers, and the bond that existed between these boys.

All in all, I thought The Dragon’s Price was a fun book and I’ll certainly be looking forward to reading more of this series. If you’re looking for a quick, but unique fantasy book, this one is for you!

What are some of your favorite books with dragons?
Let me know in the comments below!

Follow Us:

Follow

Nick