3 Reasons Why I Liked The Dragon’s Price by Bethany Wiggins

Posted February 20, 2017 by Nick/ 20 Comments

3 Reasons Why I Liked The Dragon’s Price by Bethany WigginsThe Dragon's Price (Transference, #1)
by Bethany Wiggins
Release Date: February 21st 2017
Published by Crown Books for Young Readers
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, YA
Format: ARC
Pages: 304
Buy on AmazonBuy on B&N
three-half-stars
Source: ARC received for review purposes

Fans of Julie Kagawa’s Talon and Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn will devour this action-packed fantasy adventure about a girl who chooses to surrender herself to a deadly dragon rather than marry an enemy prince.

When two warring kingdoms unified against a deadly menace laying waste to both their lands, they had to make a choice: vow to marry their heirs to one another, or forfeit their lives to the dragon.

Centuries later, everyone expects the sheltered princess Sorrowlynn to choose the barbarian prince over the fire-breathing beast—everyone, that is, except Sorrow, who is determined to control her own destiny or die trying.

As she is lowered into the dragon’s chamber, she assumes her life is over until Golmarr, the young prince she just spurned, follows her with the hopes of being her hero and slaying the dragon. But the dragon has a different plan. . . .

If the dragon wins, it will be freed from the spell that has bound it to the cave for centuries. If Sorrow or Golmarr vanquish the dragon, the victor will gain its treasure and escape the cave beneath the mountain. But what exactly is the dragon hiding?

There are no safe havens for Sorrow or Golmarr—not even with each other—and the stakes couldn’t be higher as they risk everything to protect their kingdom.

Add to Goodreads

Is it just me or is YA fantasy sorely lacking in dragons? I haven’t come across many with them, but when I do, I’m always quick to read. That was honestly the main reason for me picking up The Dragon’s Price. I hadn’t read anything by the author before, so I went in with zero expectations, and ultimately, the book wound up being a book I couldn’t put down.

Here are a few reasons, why I enjoyed this book:

1. It’s unique for a YA fantasy

I don’t know about you guys, but lately, every YA fantasy book I’ve read has been the same old repetitive story. Over the past year, I’ve noticed that YA fantasy has lost its originality and honestly, it has made me wary of the genre. Reading The Dragon’s Price was a breath of fresh air. It’s got a unique and utterly engrossing concept, and awesome world building, that may start off like the same old fantasy world, but slowly builds up to become something very original. It has bits and pieces here and there that you’ll find familiar, but Bethany Wiggins manages to make the story entirely hers. If you, like me, are a little sick of reading the same story in every new YA fantasy book, then this is a must-read for you.

2. It has dragons, and they aren’t just there in the background

Obviously, I have to mention the dragons, because woah! I don’t know what it is about these mythical creatures, but I’m always excited to see one in a book. Here, we get glimpses to MANY different dragons. They are scary, and intriguing, and had me on the edge of my seat. There’s much to learn about them and I’m excited to see what the author has in store, especially given how the main character becomes linked to them.

3. An enjoyable cast & a sweet romance

I wasn’t too sure about the protagonist, Sorrowlyn at first, because she had her spoiled moments, but she grew on me as soon as she decided to sacrifice herself instead of getting married. Throughout the book, thanks to the push given by the obstacles that she faces, she grows a spine and becomes a lot more mature. I liked her love interest Golmarr a lot too. He was charming, flirty, but always there for Sorrowlyn. The romance between the two was slow-burn, but with instant-attraction. I loved watching the two of them banter, and become comfortable around each other. I will say that there are some really cheesy moments & dialogue in this book, but they didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the story. We also get introduced to Golmarr’s family, who I’m hoping we’ll see a lot more of in the subsequent books. I especially loved his brothers, and the bond that existed between these boys.

All in all, I thought The Dragon’s Price was a fun book and I’ll certainly be looking forward to reading more of this series. If you’re looking for a quick, but unique fantasy book, this one is for you!

What are some of your favorite books with dragons?
Let me know in the comments below!

Follow Us:

Follow

Nick

Tags: , , , ,


  • YAY! I’m glad you liked this one! I was pleasantly surprised by it. I wasn’t *dying* to read it, so when it arrived at my house I was like meh, why not. Who doesn’t like a good fantasy with dragons, am I right? The romance was the cutest! I’m hoping the author doesn’t mess with it in the next book… cross your fingers! o_o Wonderful review, Nick!

    Have a lovely week. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

  • ::Whispers:: I have never read a book with dragons. I know, I know, I shall hang my head in shame. I have convinced myself that I don’t like dragons, but how would I even KNOW if I liked them!? I would noT! I LOVE that it is unique for a YA fantasy- I fully agree with you that it has been… lacking lately. And the great characters and romance have sold me! I shall try this dragon book, Nick. Great review!

  • Books with dragons are never wrong 😉

  • Jasprit

    I have to agree with you Nick there aren’t many books that I’ve read containing dragons and even those haven’t really worked out for me, so I’m glad that this book ended up working out for you. The slow burn romance and instant attraction sounds perfect though! Thank you for putting this book on my radar Nick! Fab review! 🙂

  • Sydney West

    Favorite Dragon books : The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia Wrede! Hands down.

  • kindlemom1

    I love all these reasons Nick and that cover is awesome, it makes me want to pick this one up next!

  • DRAGONS. Dragons. Having been burned by several fantasy novels that promised some mighty dragons, I’ve grown wary of them. So yeah, it’s been a while since I’ve read one. I’ll put this one for future consideration.

  • Dragons – that’s all that needed to be said. Just kidding, but I’m so excited to try this. It just sounds like a breath of fresh air after reading so many heavy books. So glad you enjoyed this, Nick!! gorgeous review, as always. (:

  • I love the cover! I haven’t read a YA fantasy in ages, but I do know what you mean when genres start to feel repetitive. SO glad you loved this one.

  • You are right, Nick, there aren’t
    a lot of dragon books out there. I haven’t heard about this book before. I don’t
    read a lot of fantasy, so all books feel unique and original for me. Lol. But I
    definitely feel this way about romance genre. I like the premise and romance
    sounds lovely. I like the format of this review.

  • I have been avoiding YA fantasy and most YA in general, I have grown bored of it. Glad to hear that this one is worth reading. I haven’t read a good dragon book in a long time.

  • Don’t laugh, but I love the kids movie: How to Train Your Dragon, both the first and second movies. The second one was better, though. I can’t think of a dragon book off the top of my head besides Sophie Jordan’s YA Firelight trilogy, complete with love triangle. Yes, it came out during the popularity of the dreaded love triangle! I’ll keep this series in mind seeing as you enjoyed this one, Nick. Wonderful review! 🙂

  • There isn’t enough YA books with awesome dragons! This book sounds good! I’m going to add it to my TBR. As for books with dragons, I love Seraphina and Shadow Scale!

  • I need more books that feature dragons! I love them in Fantasy! I admit the cover is not appealing to me at all but I’m glad you put this on my radar!!
    Genesis @ Latte Nights Reviews

  • Yeet, I’m so glad to see you liked this one!
    I feel like not many people have been aware of this (or at least not that I know of) ((especially because that cover isn’t the most attention-attracting? MAYBE THAT’S JUST A ME PROBLEM)) but you have convinced me to start it! You know I’m all about those fantasy books 😉

    I like the sound of the heroine’s character growth though. From being spoiled to sacrificing herself…. yes please. And DRAGONS. Omg, agreed with how YA lacks in dragons. We need more dragons in YA fantasies. Awesomeee review!

    – Aila @ One Way Or An Author

  • It’s not just you: YA is definitely lacking dragons! Seraphina will forever be my favourite YA dragon book…*happy sigh* Cheesy dialogue and cliche moments don’t bother me so long as the story’s good, and it sounds like that’s the case here. 🙂

  • Bookworm Brandee

    You had me at dragons! 😉 I haven’t read much YA in awhile because, like NA, it was all getting old. I like the premise of this one, Nick, and since it has dragons who aren’t just in the background and an interesting heroine even if she has her moments, it sounds like it’s worth checking out. 🙂

  • I’ve heard a few good things about this book and I have to say, even though I hate the cover, it is one I want to read. I agree there are not enough books about dragons out there and I always worry people won’t do them justice. There are only a couple of books I can think of where dragons are done well and so I will make this one to read. ALso, YA fantasy has been getting a bit samey lately, there are a handful of standout books from the past couple of years and then a whole lot of blergh. Hopefully this will be a handful of the good ones. Fingers crossed.

  • I can’t wait to read this one – I love dragons and fun and fast paced sounds EXCELLENT. And a fresh premise? I’m definitely in. 🙂 @Alyssa_Susanna:disqus also gave it a good review so I’m even more excited seeing both of you enjoying it. 🙂

  • YES THEY ARE LACKING DRAGONS!! It’s about damn time! I can’t wait to read this!

    (Check my header if you don’t believe how much I love dragons :DDD)