Reviews: The Night We Said Yes/Cinder & Ella

Reviews: The Night We Said Yes/Cinder & EllaThe Night We Said Yes
Release Date: 06/16/15
Published by Harper Collins, Harper Teen
Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Format: ARC
Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
Pages: 304
Buy on AmazonBuy on B&N

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Add to Goodreads

I feel like I’m a bit conflicted on this one, I’m not ever sure what to rate it.  It could honestly be anything from a 3-4 star book for me.  I liked a lot of parts of it, but I also didn’t like a few things about it.  I feel a little bit let down by this one because I was hoping to like this one more than I did, and I felt like if the storyline wouldn’t have done so much time-jumping, I would have likes this so much more.

The book starts in the present, Ella sees Matt at a party, who ex that left town without any notice a few months ago.  Seeing him back in town is a bit of a shock, especially since she hadn’t heard from in in months and they never ‘officially’ even broke up.  Ella isn’t the only one mad at Matt, her best friend and her on-again-back-again boyfriend aren’t too happy with him either since he abandoned all of them.But Ella decides to give Matt a chance to hear him out, and soon they end up on an almost exact kind of night as the night they first met a year ago.

What I struggled with the most, was all the flashbacks in the book.  Basically, every chapter is a time jump from the past when they first met, to the present.  So this whole book pretty much takes place over two days, one in the past and one in the present.  I always struggle with flashbacks.  I feel like for me, it cuts the flow of the story and it makes it harder for me to get through.  It also takes me way longer to get through it, at only 304 pages, this shouldn’t have taken me almost two weeks to finish.  I have to say, that I really liked Matt and Ella’s story, both in the past and in the present.  I did feel like the side story and drama with Ella’s best friend and her sometimes boyfriend. I was so over the ‘they’re together-they are broken up but are still making out’ drama between them.  I was a little bit bored by those parts and wished the story focused more on Matt and Ella.

My other tiny issue is that I felt like Matt’s reason for leaving without a word for so long was kind of weak.  I was expecting something more… dramatic? Believable? I don’t know, but I was disappointed by the revelation.  This was a really good book and I would have liked it so much better without the best friend drama.  Although I struggle with flashbacks, this was the perfect way to tell this particular story.  This has been getting really good reviews, so if flashbacks don’t bother you, definitely give it a shot!


Reviews: The Night We Said Yes/Cinder & EllaCinder & Ella
Release Date: 10/01/14
Published by Self Published
Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Format: Audiobook
Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
Pages: 269
Buy on AmazonBuy on B&NBuy on Audible
Source: Audiobook Received for Review

It’s been almost a year since eighteen-year-old Ella Rodriguez was in a car accident that left her crippled, scarred, and without a mother. After a very difficult recovery, she’s been uprooted across the country and forced into the custody of a father that abandoned her when she was a young child. If Ella wants to escape her father’s home and her awful new stepfamily, she must convince her doctors that she’s capable, both physically and emotionally, of living on her own. The problem is, she’s not ready yet. The only way she can think of to start healing is by reconnecting with the one person left in the world who’s ever meant anything to her—her anonymous Internet best friend, Cinder.

Hollywood sensation Brian Oliver has a reputation for being trouble. There’s major buzz around his performance in his upcoming film The Druid Prince, but his management team says he won’t make the transition from teen heartthrob to serious A-list actor unless he can prove he’s left his wild days behind and become a mature adult. In order to douse the flames on Brian’s bad-boy reputation, his management stages a fake engagement for him to his co-star Kaylee. Brian isn’t thrilled with the arrangement—or his fake fiancée—but decides he’ll suffer through it if it means he’ll get an Oscar nomination. Then a surprise email from an old Internet friend changes everything.

Add to Goodreads

I’ve seen so many great reviews for this book and when I was offered the audiobook for review, I immediately said yes.  I don’t particularly like books with the famous people storyline, there are only a few that don’t get on my nerves, and luckily, Cinder and Ella was one of them.  This book was so damn cute and addicting.  Sure, some parts of it were a little bit cheesy.  But it was definitely that ‘awwwww’ kind of cheesy and not that ‘barf’ kind of cheesy.  Cinder & Ella was just a fun book!

This is a story that has been done a few times, but still, this one stood out for me.  I loved the simplicity of it, it was just a great romance and a fun story.  I really liked the parallels with this and Cinderella and I loved that it had its own spin on the story.  The blogging aspect of her life was really cute and it didn’t get on my nerves (like others can).  I really loved how the story tied in with the Cinder book/movie (not the Cinder book by Marissa Meyer, just to clarify) and the whole Comic Con thing.  The dual POV was a plus, but I was a little annoyed we didn’t have a guy narrator for those scenes.  All in all, this was a really fun and really good book.

Audiobook Comments: This is one of those books that has one narrator for two character POV’s, specifically a girl narrator for both POV’s.  I don’t like this, ever, but I do admit that a few (very few) narrators can pull this off.  This narrator was so close to pulling it off, but hey, I’ll take it!  Most of the time, she made me forget that this was a female narrating a guy’s POV scenes, which is good enough for me!  I think she did a great job with her Ella scenes as well as the male scenes, even though I still wish we just had a guy narrator.  I ALWAYS prefer this.  This was a nice listen, it was long but it was so enjoyable that it went by pretty quickly.

Follow Me:




Nereyda is a 31 year-old mother of two girls with addiction to Friends, fashion, books, Pinterest, Netflix, the color black and a little bit of everything else. Also, the world's worst texter...