Audiobook Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Nevin!

Audiobook Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Nevin!All the Right Places
by Jennifer Nevin
Release Date: 01/06/15
Published by Knopf, Random House
Genres: Contemporary, YA
Format: Audiobook
Narrator: Ariadne Meyers, Kirby Heyborne
Length: 11 hrs and 4 mins
Pages: 384
Source: Audiobook Received for Review

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Includes a PDF Help Line Resource Guide and a Note Read by the Author.

Audiobook Received for Review in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Add to Goodreads

Yeah, I guess I’m the black sheep when it comes to this book.  In all honestly, I probably should have stayed away from this book because books that scream ‘this is sad!’ or ‘this will make you cry’ usually backfire on me.  See, I had a feeling that View Spoiler » and I think that kept me from emotionally attaching myself to the characters or the story.  This story was good, the writing was amazing, but at the end, I just didn’t feel… sad over what had happened.

Theodore Finch is an odd kid, at least, that’s what everyone thinks of him.  He’s obsessed with suicide and knows all these random and scary facts about different ways to kill yourself.  Violet is dealing with grief over losing her sister in a car accident, but she isn’t necessarily dealing with it in a healthy way.  She uses her sister’s death as an excuse not to deal with stuff and to even get away with school work.  When they are paired for a school project together, they grow closer and help each other deal with their problems.  Kind of.  You would think that these two people would be a disaster together, but I loved how they seemed to be a perfect match.  I really liked how slow their friendship and their relationship progressed, it was really sweet but they also had this really deep and emotional connection.  Other than the writing, their relationship was my favorite part of the book.

But other than that, I just didn’t feel much of anything else towards the book.  And again, I think a lot of that had to do with the fact that I never let myself connect or attach myself to the characters.  I knew something bad was coming, and although I didn’t know what it was, I had an idea.  Knowing this is why I felt detached to the characters and when it happened, I didn’t feel sad about it.  I mean, sure, it was terrible and devastating, but I was subconsciously preparing myself for this since even before I started the book.  This is the downside with sad books for me.  While everyone else was probably bawling their eyes out over this, I was more like ‘I knew this would happen!’

I also wanted to know more about Finch and his family.  Why were they so… careless about Finch. It just seemed like they didn’t care much about him.  Dis they really not know what was going on with him.  What was the deal with his dad?  Was he View Spoiler ».  Is this why he hit Finch?  And why would Finch and his sister still keep going to their dads house if he just treated them so terrible?  It didn’t seem like anyone was forcing them to be there, so why go?  I also wanted to know more about what happened with Violet’s sister.  I don’t know if it’s just something I didn’t catch on to, but I didn’t know that Finch was View Spoiler » until closer to the end.  I assumed he was either depressed or he had an illness (not the mental kind).  I’m just not really sure how to feel about this book.  I wanted to love it, especially since the writing is so pretty.  I wanted it to affect me more than it did, instead, I just felt like a robot when I didn’t really feel sad about it.  But, I’m the exception to this book because it has such glowing reviews, so you should definitely give it a chance.

Audiobook Comments: Kirby is not one of my favorite narrators, he isn’t even a narrator I would tolerate listening to (unless it’s The Sea of Tranquility) because I think his voice is just not a right for YA books (or NA books).  But, after listening to The Kiss of Deception and finding out he was one of the narrators, which I happened to like, I gave him another shot.  Seems like the Kirbs is trying out a new YA-ish sounding voice and I have to admit that I like it.  He doesn’t over pronounce his words like he used to, which used to drive me crazy.  I’ve only heard one book by Ariadne Meyers (We Were Liars, which ended up being a DNF) but I liked her voice then and now.  Although there wasn’t really anything that made her performance stand out, she was a good fit for Violet and sounded age appropriate.

Some of my favorite non-spoiler quotes from All the Bright Places:

– The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody.

– The problem with people is they forget that most of the time it’s the small things that count.

– “Is today a good day to die?”

– I want to get away from the stigma they all clearly feel just because they have an illness of the mind as opposed to, say, an illness of the lungs or blood. I want to get away from all the labels. “I’m OCD,” “I’m depressed,” “I’m a cutter,” they say, like these are the things that define them. One poor bastard is ADHD, OCD, BPD, bipolar, and on top of it all he has some sort of anxiety disorder. I don’t even know what BPD stands for. I’m the only one who is just Theodore Finch.

– “You know what I like about you, Finch? You’re interesting. You’re different. And I can talk to you. Don’t let that go to your head.”
“You know what I like about you, Ultraviolet Remarkey-able? Everything.”

Available from:

amazon buy button 3 b&n buy button audible buy button

Follow Me:




Nereyda is a 31 year-old mother of two girls with addiction to Friends, fashion, books, Pinterest, Netflix, the color black and a little bit of everything else. Also, the world's worst texter...